Weather Related

Anyone who works or spends a lot of time outside knows the importance of keeping abreast of the weather. I don’t dwell on the forecast, but I note whether it’s going to rain or not and if a storm is on the horizon.

Yesterday was one of those days when the weather planned my day. Rain was forecasted for late in the morning, so I put the animals out to pasture early while things were still dry. The chores were done, and I went to work in the garden.

Mid-afternoon my son came out of the garage and informed me a severe lightening storm was reported in Dartmouth. It was headed our way. We fed the animals, making sure everyone had enough hay and water in case the storm kept us indoors for a few hours, and then I went back to planting the strawberry plants.

A short time later, the wind picked up, and I felt a speck of rain. The dark clouds rolled in. My son and I brought the animals in from the pasture and secured the barn. And I went back to digging in the garden.

The storm finally arrived in full force shortly after supper. Lightening lit up the sky all around us and several claps of thunder shook the house. The power flickered a few times, but stayed on. The storm continued into the wee hours of the morning with plenty of rain to water the garden and make rivers down the driveway.

On CBC news this evening, Peter Coade spoke of another possible storm that may arrive in a few days: Tropical Storm Emily which may transform into Hurricane Emily, the first of the season. This one’s a little different than a lightening storm, so I’ll be keeping an eye it. Having lived through Hurricane Juan, I know the power of the wind and rain. If you’re not prepared, a lot of needless damage can occur and a lot of unnecessary hardship may be endured.

 

Two links to help keep up-to-date on the local weather are:

Environment Canada

Storm Pulse (Hurricane Watch)

3 thoughts on “Weather Related

  1. Great post, as a sailor (and soon to be small holding farmer) I know exactly what you are talking about. Wise words for anyone who lives in Nova Scotia and especially those whose life is closely tied to Mother Nature. Be prepared.

    I also like this website for Hurricane information. http://www.nhc.noaa.gov/

    • Thanks for visiting, Shaun. I’ve lived most of my life by water and always enjoyed the changable weather. I’m a little too far from water right now being in the middle of Nova Scotia, but some day, I’ll head back to it where temperatures don’t go from 10 to 35 in about eight hours. For me, weather happens, and sometimes Mother Nature can put on one wicked light show.

      I’m not a sailor, but I’ve clocked many hours on the ocean. I love it there with no land in sight. You can see the clouds floating miles and miles away.

      Good luck with your small holding farm. It’s certainly an adventure.

    • I forgot to mention, I’ve been on the Hurricane Centre website before. It’s the second place i look for information about a hurricane. Storm pulse is very visual. I guess that’s why I prefer it. Still, when the hurricane is approaching, I check both regularly.

Leave a Reply

