Cold Winter Day in Pictures

02-cold5x5A few days ago I woke to an outdoor temperature of -24.4 degrees Celsius. That’s minus 24.4 or minus 12 degrees Fahrenheit. It was the coldest day so far this winter. The radio announcer said it was -30 with the wind chill factored in.

Watering, feeding and tending to the animals would be a challenge with frozen locks, frozen bucks and frozen gates.

As light skirted the horizon, I suited up. I was outside just in time to see the sun, a bright ball of red and yellow fire, peeking over the hill and through the trees.

02-coldMe

I find cold mornings have spectacular sunrises and incredible colours as the sun sends it early morning light upon the land. Billowy clouds of fog rose high off the wide, slow-moving river between our homestead and the hill in the distance, making for an interesting scene.

02-coldfog

Frost covered everything. This was not a morning to have bare skin (particularly damp skin with water buckets) touch steel or it would stick. I even had to pull free my damp gloves a few times.

The old peddle bike looked great in the frosty morning bathed in pink and purple hues.

02-coldbike

Surprisingly, with very little wind, I didn’t feel that cold. Within ten minutes of working, I was toasty warm. The animals didn’t seem to mind and went about their morning activities as usual.

By the time I was ready to come it, I had decided it was a beautiful day in spite of the frigid temperatures.

Leave a Reply

