Making Camembert at Home

I haven’t tried my hand at cheese yet, but I’m reading about it, so when our goats come into milk in the spring (after kidding), I’ll be ready.

Artisan Cheesemaker

As I am preparing to give the Camembert workshop in Canberra on 16th of November, I thought it would be good to put down some basics.

When I first tried to make Camembert (Cam for short) couple years back, I was reading horrible results like slip-skin, ammonia smell, pungent aroma, contamination during the aging etc and was thinking that, this must be one of the hardest recipes (don’t get me wrong, the hardest was Comte) I was going to try. After much reading and trying to put together a recipe with floc, pH and correct ripening requirements, I realized that, it wouldn’t be so hard to make this cheese.

As I am an engineer, technicality of making this cheese; once written down to every details, didn’t scare me much. Once I have got the confidence, I started gathering necessary cultures.

There are 2 cultures that will grow that…

View original post 1,350 more words

Leave a Reply

