Buy Local But Read the Fine Print

Tonight on the way home from work, I stopped into our local grocery store to grab a few things. As I walked in a Better Food is Local display greeted me. It was big, red and white and had the names and pictures of a few local farmers. I had already bought my fill of apples for the week at a roadside vegetable stand, so I didn’t want more at the moment. Still, I stopped to learn more about the farmers who provided Sobeys with the wonderfully delicious looking apples.

Imagine my surprise when I stepped closer and read the names of the apple varieties and the places where they were grown. Take note that the whole display is designed to tell the consumer Better Food is Local. Each tray of apples has a Nova Scotia Grown banner clipped to the side.

Now tell me, what is wrong with these pictures? Is this considered false advertisement? Do consumers even realise what they are buying? Or do I simply do not understand the meaning of local?

CAM00294

CAM00295

The apples in the pictures below are on the top shelf.

CAM00296

CAM00297

CAM00298

CAM00299

I have to ask myself: Doesn’t Nova Scotia produce awesome apples?

We do! Why aren’t they on the top shelf? Why don’t they dominate the display if buying local is better?

*I apologise for the poor quality of the photos. They were taken with my phone.

3 thoughts on “Buy Local But Read the Fine Print

  1. I always watch people if they are picking up apples, most do not even look to see if they are American or not, most people do not even know Granny Smith is an American Apple, others will buy American apples and say they were cheaper. I don’t know what people can do to get people to buy are own apples, we have fabulous apples here and bottom line is it helps our province in the long run to buy local produce,it’s so easy to say buy local but people don’t understand that doesn’t mean buy out of country at your local store.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    • I agree, Norma. Many people don’t look to see where the product is from. For many it is the bottom line at the check out, not the bottom line for the farms in Nova Scotia. They don’t see the big picture, and even if they did, they’d still buy the cheapest out there. Saving money on groceries means more money for clothes, electronics, gadgets, cars, gas, eating out…the list goes on. My favourite apple is the Cortland. Unfortunately because of all the ‘sweet’ apples, it’s not as popular as twenty years ago. It difficult to find good, crisp Cortland apples.

  2. I always look where the produce is grown, and I don’t mind one bit to spend the few cents extra to buy Nova Scotia/ Maritime product…and yes the sign is false advertising.

Leave a Reply

